Throwback Thursday featuring Travis Mossotti from issue 294.2

Travis Mossotti’s poem “The Dead Cause” won first place in the James Hearst Poetry Prize in 2009. His poem is featured in issue 294.2, Spring 2009 and can be still be purchased through our online store. 

grasshopper-249115_640

The Dead Cause

On the porch, a grasshopper waved
its serrated foreleg at me while I juggled

groceries for keys; it was the kind
of friendly wave I might expect

from a loved one, recently dead,
reincarnated into this green husk.

The whole ordeal triggered an alarm
of distant thunder, stuffing my head

with dark seeds; so after waving back,
I ducked inside, fearful

of inadvertently giving the dead cause
to haunt me—the last thing

I needed. Regina was off doing research
in Glen Rose again, otherwise

she would’ve identified the grasshopper
using the scientific precision that always

fussed my mouth with cobwebs.
As it was, I dialed her number

just to…

View original post 161 more words

Leave a Reply

